Do development in technology make crime easier to detect or do they make people more vulnerable to crime? Discuss both sides and give you opinion.

In contemporary society, the advancement of technology has sparked a widespread debate. While there are those who opine that modern technologies lead to a decline in the overall crime rate, some believe that it causes inadvertent criminal activities. In this essay, I will discuss both notions before presenting my own stance.

To begin with, some individuals have asserted that high-tech fosters an increase in illegal behaviors. The rapid development of the internet has given rise to a new form of crime that utilizes computers and platforms for exploitation, cybercrime. To exemplify, identity theft is one of the most common crimes where cybercriminals obtain users’ personal information: social security number, bank account details, and more, through various social networking sites such as Facebook. The aim of this illegal action is often to collect data and use it for monetary gain.

On the other hand, while it is true that advanced technologies can detrimentally affect one’s economic state and cause financial loss, these innovations can also be beneficial in many aspects. In airports nowadays, when passengers cross the border of any country, some departments are responsible for monitoring and inspecting people as well as their belongings through special detecting devices such as X-ray machines. These apparatuses aim to deter illicit behavior from happening by exposing weapons, drugs, and other banned items.

In conclusion, while the goal of inventing modern innovation is to curb criminal activities, technological advancement brings its own set of drawbacks as it is often utilized for wrongdoings. Nonetheless, I firmly believe the idea that modern technology plays a vital role in assisting customs in spotting crimes as the advantages outweigh its disadvantages.