Do the advantages of working from home outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowaday, working remotely is gaining more popularity as it is convenient and easy for many people. There are many office employees who believe it has more advantages and better opportunities to develop their career, meanwhile others have a disagreement. In my opinion, working from home has more disadvantages compared to its advantages.

On the one hand, working online is believed to have many advantages.Firstly, many people are enjoying the working environment as it is familiar, providing them a quiet working space, so that they can have a better focus on the task and become more productive. Secondly, they can save more time commuting to work on a daily basis. To explain, the employees do not have to drive to work during the rush hour, saving them plenty of time and keeping them away from the stress of traffic congestion. Furthermore, this can also help to reduce the expenses of their transportation costs.

On the other hand, working from home seems to bring a lot more disadvantages to a lot of people. First of all, breakdown in communication is one of the concerns. Working remotely in the long term can cause lower ability to respond as verbal communication is reduced. Moreover, working remotely in the long term is most likely to bring difficulties in presenting and public speaking skills due to less opportunities to practice over time. Second of all, remote working tends to have a lot of distraction and negative effects on productivity. Messages or noises seem to be the most common reason that cause distraction. Besides, when working in a home environment, the temptation of having a break happens more than expected due to the comfortness around the working space. In addition, help from colleagues is not always available when needed. Reaching out for their help and receiving a reply immediately rarely happens when working remotely, it is one of the biggest disadvantages of working online.

In conclusion, working from home actually has more problems than benefits. Despite the fact that it helps save time in commute and provides a quiet space to work in, however, it brings a lot more distractions, lessens productivity and has negative effects on the work. Additionally, it might slow down the work progress when getting help from colleagues is not available when needed.