Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All students should be required to study art and music in secondary school. Use specific reasons to support your answer

Nowadays, people tend to place great weight on ensuring an overall student development. It is commonly believed that secondary schools need to include arts and music as compulsory subjects for students’ curricula. From my point of view, students can gain many advantages from studying arts and music.

Firstly, studying arts and music can be considered as an effective tool for entertainment among students. Studying music with rhythm, beats, or sounds allow students to express their feelings and make their mood brighter after stressful classes. Besides, practicing arts can spark joy and give students a chance to release emotions buried deep within their subconscious in a safe environment. For example, according to a survey from University of London, students who have exposure to music and arts during their school time tend to be relieved and less stressed compared to those who do not have music and art in their curricula. That is why students should learn arts and music to support their emotional wellbeing.

In the realm of personal development, arts and music possibly stimulate students’ right side of the brain. In other words, those subjects can be an effective way to enhance students’ creativity and innovation. While other subjects such as math or biology require students to memorize complex formulas and complicated theories, art and music allow students to explore their own style through learning to work with different mediums. Specifically, teachers can ask students to rearrange and remix a painting or a musical composition in a different style, which inspires them to think creatively. Arts and music should be included in secondary education curricula.

In conclusion, education in the arts and music play a vital role in developing a well-rounded individual. Hence, education schools should be equipped with more recreational subjects to bring this into effect.