Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People should read only those books that are about real events, real people and established facts.

How people read books in recent years has changed dramatically with the help of technical advancement. As a result, some argue that only non-fiction books about real-life stories and individuals should be viewed. I strongly agree with this viewpoint. Hence, I will point out the reasons in the following paragraphs.

On the one hand, reading fiction books encourages people to imagine. As these stories make readers visualize characters or predict the development of the plot or the upcoming actions, they help improve one’s imagination. For example, in a horror story, as the author does not give a full description of a character they make up, people will have to imagine their characteristics or appearances. Hence, with the potential development of creativity, it stimulates people to come up with innovative ideas for their career or in real life. In spite of reading fiction books, there are other methods for people to enhance their creativity. Drawing, playing musical instruments, engaging in puzzling games,… are other useful forms that one can use which still have the same result as reading non real-life books. As a result, society doesn’t have to base solely on reading books as a way to increase their imagination.

On the other hand, advocates for consuming non-fiction books base their case on the following reasons. First off, books that delve into specialized fields can be useful for someone to develop professionally as they often find these books to improve their knowledge in a specific major. For example, students who major in economics can look for related books to help them catch up with the latest news in this industry, or help them with their research projects. As a result, non-fiction books are helpful for one’s personal growth. Moreover, reading books that contain verified information helps people handle real life situations. These books are always proven by certified individuals, thus they are a reliable foundation of knowledge. With the extreme development of the internet, there is countless misinformation and lies. Proven books guide people towards reliable knowledge, which gives them a sense of reliability as they are not misled by misconceptions.

To summarize, non-fiction books are great sources of information for many reasons. Thus, people are advised to read them. Nevertheless, we should also balance between reading fiction and non-fiction books, depending on individual preferences and goals.