Do you agree that modern technology has given us more leisure time than before?

It is claimed that the advancement of technology has provided more entertainment time than in the past. From my point of view, I firmly disagree with the mentioned statement which will be analyzed with particular examples to jutify it.

Initially, there are two primary reasons why the advancement of technology may provide individuals with more opportunities to relax compared to the past. Firstly, users have access to numerous websites and applications for their leisure and entertainment purposes. For instance, in the past, individuals who wanted to play video games must have used a computer. However, in the modern era, users can conveniently play games on their smartphones instead of bulky computers. Secondly, individuals can complete their tasks from home instead of arriving to their workplaces, resulting in a decrease in time spent on compulsory activities such as work. As a result, this allows them to engage in various non-compulsory activities of their choice. Likewise, people can use their time for other purposes.

Apart from the practical benefits above, I believe that the advancement of technology may actually limit opportunities for entertainment. One significant issue is that due to the prevalence of modern technological devices, younger generations are opting for shorter and fewer vacations, leading to an increase in technological interaction. With the rapid evolution of technology, individuals are experiencing higher levels of stress compared to previous generations including peer pressure. It contains a wide range of problems that younger must study hard, and try a lot to gain the opportunity to develop in the future. Furthermore, individuals nowadays have to engage in more everyday processes than in the past. It seems that the time budget is burdened due to more non-compulsory activities. In other words, individuals have more time than before, but they are facing a lot of activities that make them more busier, and more tired than previous generations.

In conclusion, for the reasons I have mentioned above, the advancement of technology brings both pros and cons, however, I strongly disagree with the statement that it has given people more time to be free.