Do you agree with the following statement? only educated people should have right to vote.

Nowadays, it is widely considered that only educated people’s votes should be counted in terms of any elections. Even though democracy has given every person the right to vote, I strongly believe this opinion and think that educated people’s votes are more precious than those of any other uneducated person in terms of the country’s future.

Firstly, in almost all countries, uneducated voters are not sufficiently familiar with public affairs. A large portion of the uneducated population in a country roughly belongs to the working class, and most of them neither have the time to keep up with public affairs from an objective perspective nor the ability to think critically. For instance, they finish work and barely read about the latest news, and mostly choose a candidate merely according to their outward appearance.

Furthermore, uneducated people’s opinions and their entire belief system are easily swayed by politicians in daily political debates. For example, after politicians start to give speeches for an election, many uneducated people are exposed to their rhetoric and lies regarding the endless problems facing the public and are unable to criticize crucial issues that need to be solved. Moreover, to alleviate this situation, governments should act and begin to restore the education system and educate people about critical thinking. Although this cannot be achieved in the short term, it can cure the country’s future in the long run.

To conclude, I believe that uneducated people’s votes should not be counted in terms of the country’s future unless better governments can be established, and people are fully aware of their country’s situation.