Do you think that the external environment have more influence over a child than his/her immediate family?"

In modernity, it is a common belief that a child can only open his or her social doors when exposed to external factors such as friends, neighbors, school and the like. Somehow, society will likely say that it is the external forces that helps a child grow into becoming a motivated and accomplished individual and the only thing the direct family can do is to guide and hone.

To put it on the context, it is true that the first years of a child will ultimately be about the shaping of a child’s behavior, sharpening a child’s cognition, feeding a child with lessons,band rearing him or her to be ready in the academic and social competition in the global village. This will result into a creation of a seemingly perfect individual in the eyes of the familial taste, allowing them to garner the feeling of fulfillment in themselves.

On the other side of the coin, some believes that the family can only be the guardian and not the whole influencer and mere sculptor of a child. This has led to some parents letting their child to travel alone, study away from home, allowing their child to discover their own usefulness and talent as a way of defining their own selves making them intellectually adaptive and mature enough to create decision for their future embarkments.

The best way forward is for both options to be available for a child’s psychosocial growth. Adults can only be of assistance in the early years of their offspring’s development. What better way can we create a redefined growing individuals than to offer them the best guidance from each family and the conducive society which can offer them a helping hand for their individual processing.