Due to a more sedentary lifestyle, children in developed nations have higher levels of obesity compared to previous generations. What problems does this cause and what are the possible solutions?

With the increasing number of children who developed a sedentary lifestyle, children in developed nations have higher levels of obesity, in contrast with previous generations. The principal problem this situation has caused are the shorter generational life span and more funding for hospital, and the solutions regarding this problem are promoting physical activity at school and raising awareness of individual’s health.

One primary problem this situation may cause is the reducing of generational life span; considering the number of children suffering from obesity which will leads to unhealthy generation. Sedentary lifestyle is an unhealthy way of living that children pick up, inadequate physical exercises reduce the efficiency of immune system; therefore, resulting in physically weak children that are less likely to have long life, considering the pollution and exposure of bacteria that can easily attack their body. The increasing demand of funding for hospital is also a problem, since obesity itself is not as dangerous as what it may bring with, which is chronic disease like diabetes that requires more medical supply to treat. If majority of youngsters are suffered from obesity, the hospital will require more fund in order to provide a medical treatment. For example, obesity and diabetes often come together and need at least six types of medicine for treating them.

One of the approach that could tackle this problem is to promote physical activities in school curriculum. Promoting physical activities give youngsters more opportunity to be physically active which can significantly enhance their overall health, despite them still living sedentary life an activity at school can be an alternative way for them to exercise. Another suitable approach is to raise awareness by making a campaign collaborating with famous influencer. Nowadays, influencer can influence children far better than teacher so by making a campaign about obesity or unhealthy lifestyle can raise self-awareness which will result in youngsters being aware of their behavior and will likely alter themselves into living a better lifestyle.

In conclusion, due to increasing of sedentary lifestyle, young adults from developed country have higher level of obesity leads to two primary problems which are shorter life span and more funding for hospital supplies, but these can be solved by promoting physical activities in school curriculum and raise awareness.