Due to rise in crime, the use of CCTV cameras at public places is increasing day by day. What are the advantages and disadvantages of using CCTV cameras at public places?

In the past few years, it appears that crime has taken an upward trend and several measures have been introduced to mitigate this. As a result, there seems to be a significant rise in the use of CCTV cameras in public places. The essay will discuss the pros and cons of using these cameras in public places.

Surveillance cameras is the need of the hour at all community places for numerous reasons. The major advantage is that these cameras assists in combating crimes such as thefts, murders and accidents and a good illustration of this is security cameras in shopping malls, banks and cash machines have aided in unraveling lootings of banks and ATMS as well as shoplifting in shopping malls. Another advantage is the camera footage promotes curbing crimes such as terrorist attacks, in public places during national festivals, elections and road campaigns. In addition to this atrocities on women in the form of eve teasing has also reduced with the help of this surveillance system.

However, video surveillance comes with some drawbacks to the public and government as well. The first disadvantage is people might lose their privacy as they are under constant vigilance which might steal them of their human rights. For instance, CCTV cameras have played havoc in trial rooms for ladies in shopping malls outraging the modesty of the women. The second disadvantage is that it is a huge burden to the government to install these cameras in public places across the country including the maintenance of the equipment. Research studies states that security personnel have shirked their work in safeguarding the safety of the public on account of this technological progression. Thus, wisdom should prevail in the right use of this system.

To sum up, the essay presents both benefits and drawbacks of CCTV cameras. However, in my opinion, I believe that public safety is top priority for the government and therefore implement this system strategically and effectively with timely intervention of human surveillance as well. I predict that in future security cameras might become mandatory for every street and home.