Due to rise in crime, the use of CCTV cameras at public places is increasing day by day. What are the advantages and disadvantages of using CCTV cameras at public places?

Nowadays CCTV cameras are becoming increasingly popular among police forces around the world. It is believed that they are crucial to protect citizens against unlawful activity. However, there are both pros and cons about using these devices in public areas. In this essay both sides will be analyzed and a conclusion will be drawn.

One obvious benefit of having surveillance cameras is that it would reduce the number of crimes committed both in public areas and households. In other words, if security cameras with face recognition were installed almost everywhere, the streets would become much safer and police forces would need less resources for identifying the criminals. Another reason that CCTV would be advantageous is that it would help track and find elderly people with mental problems, for instance,dementia and small children, who got lost on the streets. Take Moscow as an example. According to the volunteer rescue team, Liza Alert, surveillance cameras installed in the underground and public transport have already helped to reduce the search time by 50%.

On the other hand, the human privacy can be violated by the illegal usage of data. For instance, the materials could be sold on a so-called black market and used afterwards for blackmailing or preparing a crime. Another drawback of surveillance cameras is their cost. Furthermore, after the installation of the system, it should be maintained, controlled and checked by qualified professionals. For example, European countries have to cut costs on social programs like schools and hospitals in order to finance special security forces.

In conclusion, there are clearly pros and cons to installing CCTV cameras in the cities. While surveillance devices can help to cope with crime, for many people privacy concerns remain significant. Therefore, it is crucial to have a dialog between the government and the society.