Due to traffic congestion, humans should make an effort to use more public transport in urban areas. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that to reduce traffic jams, people should avail more of the mass transportation systems provided for city commuters. I strongly agree that traffic will run more smoothly if public transport was more popular. This essay will firstly discuss how greater use of buses can clear the roadways and second, explain how the extra revenue earned could be used.

Firstly, if all the public were to use buses, that would free up the roads as there would be less cars. Furthermore, buses could pull in and out of bus stops without any delays, as they would not need to wait for a clearing to get back into the traffic. A good example of this is in Ireland where this is an issue, where even though there are laws that state a bus has right of way when indicating back onto the road, it is rare to see anyone yielding to them.

Moreover, if more people decided to use public transport then city councils would have extra revenue to put back into the system. Eventually, cities could invest in rapid transit systems, such as the metro in Paris, which operate on their own tracks and so offer even more alleviation from gridlocked streets. In Toronto, for instance, a commuter in Toronto can travel from one’s apartment building to work without ever setting foot on the streets above.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that more people should opt out of private transportation, so there would be a decrease in the amount of traffic congestion due to clearer roads and funding for superior forms of public transport.Therefore, everyone could spend less time stuck in traffic and more time where they want to be.