During holidays or weekends, young people spend less time on outdoor activities in the natural environment, such as hiking and mountain climbing. Why? What can be done to encourage them to go out?

It is observed that young individuals nowadays tend to spend less time on outdoor activities in the natural environment, like hiking and trekking. Such concerning trends could be a factor in some social issues, and the government has to take action to mitigate this.

In this day and age, we have seen a lot of advancement in technology fields and others related, such as AI and Big Data. It is easy to comprehend that such unprecedented developments like this are contributing to smartphone addiction and social anxiety among teenagers, which could lead to an anti-social lifestyle. As a result, they would no longer be interested in engaging in physical health improvement like doing exercise and going to the gym, thus making their body inactive for such a long period. Secondly, not every young person has such good fundamental finances that could help them engage in social activities, as this would require a lot of equipment from a prestigious brand that surely ensures their safety, and the price of such a reliable brand is not always affordable to every young individual.

There are a lot of possible measures that can be implemented to reduce this negative phenomenon in the younger generations. As I have mentioned below, we are now living in a super-advanced technology, and this has created a lot of influencers and social media that attract a thousand users in a day, so it is wise to use this measure and platform to promote such activities like hiking and climbing as teenagers have a lot of faith in a person that they admire and have a significant effect to their life. This makes them likely to emulate the life that they see on the internet and be interested in outdoor activities. Another measure worth considering is to develop a wide range of social exercises and expenses to approach more potential young individuals as they have a lot of options and alternatives to opt for.

In conclusion, this phenomenon could negatively affect such a potential generation, which does not mean that there are no measures to alleviate that. We, the government, should cooperate to reverse this trend because it is not straightforward to reduce such a trend immediately.