Eco-tourism often involves visiting remote and fragile ecosystems, which raises concerns about the impact on local cultures and indigenous communities. What problems can this cause? How can these problems be resolved

Nowadays, the ecotourism industry has increasingly gained in popularity, even gradually accessing far away regions. This may bring a plethora of financial benefits for both residents and the government. However, its negative impacts on local people as well as cultural values may outweigh its upsides, requiring urgent solutions to overcome its drawbacks.

Tourists exposing themselves to remote areas to travel may result in two primary issues such as pollution and cultural dilution. One possible problem can be marked in pollution due to callous tourists’ behaviors. Specifically, a large horde of travelers unintentionally contaminates the river and stream by dumping litter, contaminating the quality of water. This consequently has a detrimental impact on species. Another evident issue could be cultural assimilation, stemming from customer service. For instance, more travelers flew to a remote destination, creating a condition for local people to learn foreign languages to facilitate their trading business.

To overcome further consequences, two fundamental measures including enhancing waste management facilities and preserving local cultural values can be considered. Firstly, establishing advanced facilities in terms of treating waste is considered as an effective way to prevent environmental damage caused by visitors. For example, applying recycling bins in attraction destinations can limit the situation of scattering the litter. The second measure could be to preserve ethnic values by raising local people’s awareness of the importance of conserving distinctive features to maintain cultural diversity.

To sum up, ecotourism in vulnerable and faraway regions may give rise to environmental deterioration and cultural loss which could be prevented by the improvement of infrastructure and the preservation of cultural values. If these preventive methods can be utilized widely, the possibility of alleviating the recuperation of the aforementioned scenario is feasible.