Eco-tourism often involves visiting remote ecosystems. Some think this will have a negative impact on local cultures and communities. What problems can result from ecotourism? What measures can be taken to protect local culture and communities?

While it is sometimes enjoyable for some people to visit faraway areas, it can have a negative impact on local cultures, according to other people. In this essay, I am going to discuss how ecotourism can actually result in unwanted consequences and how it can be managed.

The exploration of unpopular, new places has always been a curiosity to many tourists. In fact, with the rise of tourism around the world, people are now trying to look for something new, rather than visiting places where the local culture is spread. Consequently, the interests of visitors have started to shift to areas that are not very well known. As a result, cultures are slowly becoming less and less interesting to people. Therefore, local communities are missing the opportunity of profiting from tourists and subsequently looking for alternative jobs to make money, leading to the slow disappearance of a culture.

To properly find a solution, the problem should be well addressed. And since the issue is that people are visiting remote areas, local communities should consider moving their jobs in the cultural fields to those areas. Although it might be pricey for people with low incomes, with the help of the government, this process should be made simpler. For example, making it easier for locals to take mortgages from banks can, in return, encourage people to think of investing in remote areas.

The application of such a plan would be a win for all sides, which is what everyone is looking forward to.

In summary, locals should be able, with the government’s support, to maneuver easily to keep up with the places of interest of travelers. Which can, in return, help in preserving the entire culture of a community.