Economic progress is often used to measure a country's success. However, some people believe that other factors are more important. What other factors should also be considered when measuring a country's success? Do you think one factor is more important than others?

Successful countries are often judged by its economic scale; meanwhile some believe that there are some aspects of a country which are also crucial for its progression. While conceding financial growth is important for one country prosperity, I deem that social equity and high quality of life and are also of paramount importance.

To start with, social equity and better life quality can enhance the whole national wellbeing. Firstly, when the government provides equal chance of education for all citizens, which means the lower socio-economic groups can access to higher education, thus facilitating social mobility. Simultaneously, this also engender more educated citizens that could raise the productivity of work and consequently fostering financial growth. Secondly, many rural areas have been facing problems related to accommodation and environment. To be more specific, as a plethora of immigrants coming to cities seeking for better jobs, this has posed a challenge to housing sectors that require more and better residential buildings to accommodate such requirement. Especially, more people living in degraded areas or slums have been suffered from different kinds of ailments resulted from waterborne diseases, from flu to diarrhea. Without proper attention, these areas can be a breading ground for the deadly illnesses. This highlights the significance high levels of education and well-being among citizens which can contribute greatly to a country’s development progress.

However, as for measuring one country’s progression, any sole aspects cannot single-handedly define it. While financial stability lay the foundation for other sector’s development such as education, healthcare and science research. Without such cornerstone, most fields cannot hire employees, buy materials and invest in research. Likewise, when the inhabitants are not well-educated and disease-prone, they are unable to work and study at their best owning to their physical wealmess and academic deficiency. Any countries that priotirize one than other sectors and any undeveloped could hinder its progressive development. Therefore, in order to foster a nation development, cross-sectoral cooperation is a must. In deed, hardly could a country develop without adapting collective action from various pillars, take Switzerland as a role model, where it balances all the criteria of a country’s success, from huge Gross Domestic Product (GDP), to high educational standards and excellent social wellbeing.

In conclusion, there are many factors that could define a country’s success along with economic progress such as better living standards and social equality. In addition, there is no prominent sector than others, it is suggested that the government should incentivize all these sectors to flourish.