Employers sometimes ask people applying for job for personal information such as their hobbies and in their interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful, others diagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge and experience.

Many managers ask applications about their personal lives such as marital status, interests or hobbies. Many people agree with that statement and I agree with them, while others disagree. This essay will analyse both views and give my opinion.

On the one hand, the main reason why employers require personal details of potential employees is to understand the person’s nature. Due to the fact that they can easily group employees for team-building activities and improve relationships between colleagues. For example, staff members would like to do different activities from the others. Another reason is that managers can choose who to assign/ schedule work for after-hours or work shifts. For instance, a person who is married with a family may not be available to work at all times while a single person is able to do so. That is the reason why many employers want that kind of information.

On the other hand, some individuals believe that it is not right to ask personal questions. This could be that employers might judge their workers based on their interests or hobbies, which is inaccurate. An individual may have unusual wild hobbies but behave ethically at work.

Therefore, supervisors may get the wrong ideas about the person which is unacceptable. Furthermore, companies may rather give jobs to people who are single instead of choosing people who are married or have children. In this way, people are not treated equally because of their marital status. Additionally, companies may exclude people from certain projects, assuming that the individual is occupied with personal responsibilities. This results in people feeling left out or feeling that they made a mistake by telling personal information.

In conclusion, both views have both advantages and disadvantages, but in certain jobs, it may be useful to gather personal information, while in other jobs may be unnecessary. In my opinion, I feel it would be best to consider the career when asking these personal questions.