Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Employers ask loads of technical questions and some personal questions during interview. Some people opine that information such as hobbies and interest, and about once relationship status helps interviewer understand a lot about the person, while other disagree. I believe that asking people about their personal choices are not relevant, and in this essay I will share my thoughts on both the views.

To commence with, details about persons married life or activities they prefer to do when have leisure time can sometime help interviewer understand if the candidate will be a good fit for their team. To expound, by knowing about personal activities managers can get an idea, if the individual will be good to work in a team or not. Also, relationship status can help identify if the person could do overtime when needed. For example, if a person likes to play cricket in free time then it could be predicted that they will be a good fit for team projects. Hence, the abovementioned statement illustrates why employers ask about such details.

On the flip side, knowing about individuals hobbies and relationship status leads to biasness in the selection process. In other words, selection of candidates for any job position should entirely depend on their knowledge and not on their personal choices. For instance, employer do biasness with married women during hiring process, employers once get know about the marital status of a woman they prefer man over them even if they are more fit for the job. Therefore, in my point of view once personal life choices should not asked in the interview because it could be used against them.

To recapitulate, asking once hobbies, choices and marital status during interview are more common nowadays. While some people says it is relevant and useful, I wholeheartedly disagree with them as the only relevant thing should be once skill related to the job.