employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information,such as their hobbies and interest and whether they are married or single.some people say that this ingormation is relevent or usefull.others disagree

Whether it was for applying for a job or university, chances are you have had an interview at least once in your life. While some people argue that personal questions in interviews are irrelevant, others refuse to agree with such an idea. In this essay, i will discuss both views and express my support for the latter one.

Critics of the idea of asking personal questions in interviews may argue that this kind of information should be private. They also believe that such data doesn’t have anything to do with the criteria of choosing a specific employee or a student in a specific institution. At the end of the day, they think that it would not make a huge difference whether the employee is interested in plants or that he simply doesn’t have a green thumb.

In contrast, advocates of the idea would argue that this kind of information about an employee or a student reflects their personality, which, in return, has a lot to say about their competence. For example, people who engage in sociable activities tend to have better communication skills than those who do not. Furthermore, people who are engaged would have more responsibilities, which would probably affect their dedication to work or study. Considering the argument about privacy, most of us, if not all, would share our marital status and some of our daily activities on our personal social media pages.

In conclusion, although many people would think that questions about personal information in interviews is irrelevant, i strongly believe that their views are superficial and that this type of information can carry a lot of underlying desired qualities about a potential candidate.