employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information,such as their hobbies and interest and whether they are married or single.some people say that this ingormation is relevent or usefull.others disagree

During the interview process, employers started asking personal details such as candidate’s hobbies and whether they are single or married. It has been seen that this set of information would be useful for a company to know their employees better. Some individuals differ on this point however I completely agree to this. In this essay, I would like to shared my points on the merits of gathering personal details and would also discuss the other side of the argument.

Conspicuously, if an organization knows additional details about a candidates like interest in a foreign language or higher studies, management can groom the employee in right direction. This will also help a leader to place a member in the right team where all their skills would be utilized efficiently. Furthermore, knowing these skills beforehand also helps to engage them for various training program, learning opportunities and even part of corporate social responsibilities such as charity work, etc. Additionally, details like being married and single will help a company to plan for facilities like daycare within the office premises for working parents. Some companies like HCL even promote spouses also to be part of the same company and they even provide bonus for that.

On the other hand, some people presume that collecting details outside of educational or work experience is irrelevant. One clear reason is that they feel these details might impact the job selection process. To cite an example, studies have shown that in a couple of organizations, management becomes biased if they know details about one’s ethnicity. Moreover, based upon a company’s culture this can even impact the promotion of a staff member. Another reason is that the masses are concerned about the privacy of the details provided.

To conclude, collecting personal information about a member provides numerous benefits to both the employer and the employee in the overall growth as long as companies are not judging people based upon this.