Ensuring that children have regular physical exercise should be the responsibility of parents and therefore schools should not waste valuable time having sport lesson as part of the curriculum. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people claim that children take physical exercise on the regular basis is the obligation of parents, and schools should not provide physical education and rather concentrate on other lessons. For me personally, I fully do not agree with this viewpoint. In this essay, I am going to discuss it and share my own opinion.

To begin with, I am convinced of the importance of physical education as a part of the curriculum. Obviously, spending so much time on sitting at the lessons, children get bored, and their bodies are affected. As a result, they need to refresh their minds in order to maintain their motivations to deliver a good study. Physical exercises help them with it, enhancing their health and well-being. Besides, these contribute to their socialization which is a crucial aspect of children’s mental health. In addition to it, sports activities teach them the cooperation concept and how to work as a team by playing group games. For instance, an American study has revealed that young people who have physical lessons at school tend to be less stressed rather than those who do not.

However, I firmly believe that there must be the equilibrium between schools and parents’ responsibilities. Since offspring tend to mimic their parents, parents must be concerned about their own health. In other words, they should start with themselves because children frequently take up the same habits as their parents.

To sum up, I think that physical education is vital to human health and, especially, to children’s development. Both schools and parents should encourage children to do sports activities.