Ensuring that children have regular physical exercise should be the responsibility of parents and therefore schools should not waste valuable time having sport lesson as part of the curriculum. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As obesity rates continue to rise, some people argue that schools should add more physical education classes. However, I disagree, as increasing physical activity alone will not solve the issue because obesity is mainly caused by improper food choice, and extra PE classes do not guarantee a lasting interest in fitness.

The first reason I disagree is that poor eating habits are a major cause of obesity, and simply adding more exercises cannot solve this. Many young people regularly consume junk food, which is high in calories and low in nutrition. This is mostly defined by a food basket which family purchases, making it impossible for schools to control nutrition as a part of weight loss and maintenance. For example, students who frequently eat fast food are 20% less likely to see major health improvements just by attending more PE classes.

Moreover, physical activities may not help undergraduates build lifelong fitness habits. Those who have passion for sport usually do it as an extracurricular activity, while others see PE as just another school requirement, so they may stop exercising shortly after graduation. That is more, about a quarter of all high school and university students in our country tend to skip these classes, allocating more time to specialty courses or exam preparations.

In conclusion, while more PE classes may seem helpful, they are not the best solution to combat obesity, as educational institutions can not have an effect on family lifestyle or personal preferences of their learners.