Environmental damage is a problem in most countries. What is the cause of this damage? What should be done about this problem?

Today, environmental damage is becoming more and more of a pressing issue in most coastal and landlocked nations alike. The main causes of this issue stem from irresponsible human activities, namely overdependence on fossil fuels and vehicle use, and both governmental authorities and local communities need to implement practical measures to address and mitigate this damage.

There are multiple causes of environmental damage, with the most obvious being irresponsible human activities. The majority of our energy is produced by fossil fuels in power plants, which has led to the emission of pollutants such as carbon dioxide (CO2) or sulfur dioxide into the atmosphere. Moreover, these greenhouse gasses are also present in vehicle fumes. Unlike the previous eras, where streets were dominated by non-polluting means of transport, like bicycles, steam-powered trains or horse-drawn carriages, with the birth of the combustion engine, roads started to be filled with cars and motors, increasing the release of pollutants. Their convenience has only popularized them even more, exacerbating the problem

However, some solutions have proven their feasibility. For instance, the government should implement some policies to encourage citizens to cut down on waste and focus more on saving their environment than fulfilling their desires. For example, in many member states of the European Nation, recycling has monetary incentives, such as getting a quarter of a Euro back for every bottle recycled in France and Germany. Similarly, local communities could also take part in helping individuals do their part in saving the environment by launching recycling programs or opening community gardens. Nevertheless, governmental support is still necessary, including financial resources to facilitate the operation of sustainable programs and practices and the development of green technologies.

In conclusion, while humans are the main cause of air pollution and its effects around the globe, relying on dirty energy and means of transport, they could also be the ones to mitigate the damage global warming has led to with the help of governments and communities.