Every country should have a free-health service, even if this means that the latest medical treatments may not be available through the service because they are too expensive. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Access to reliable and good quality health service is important to the people of any country. This statement developments in medical treatment and medical technology over the last few decades have increased the costs of health care rights, making it unaffordable to all many. The high costs of treatment government duty its people.

Firstly, without government provision of free health care, the less advantaged members of the community such as unemployed and the aged would not be able to afford medical treatment. This situation would result in a great suffering and further increase the disadvantaged status of these groups.

Secondly, the purpose of any government is to ensure well-being of its people. By providing free health care service, the government would be directly attending to this duty.

Thirdly, the health care service should be organized in a way that caters for the needs of the population as a whole. These means that the government must prioritize medical service. For example, there could be provision for free access to consultation with doctors as well as free access to general hospital care. On the other hand, free access to more expensive and specialized treatment may need to have some restrictions due to the high costs involved.

In conclusion, free health care of a good overall quality is an important service for a government to provide because it has a duty to ensure that all people in community are taken care of.