Every year several languages die out. This is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Languages have a very important role in every culture. Preserving languages mean preserving that culture or community. It is never beneficial for any culture or religion if their language dies out. I personally disagree with the statement that life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world and that this is not important.

Language is something that bounds a community together. It is the identity for some people and their culture. Furthermore, getting introduced to a new language can always help you find out more about the culture it is used in or the history of those languages. For example, if one knows mandarin and visits China they can easily integrate with people and it will them become a part of that community and know more about how the language cam into existence. If you are comfortable in your language, it also helps with expressing your feelings without any hesitation, you cannot feel any discomfort when talking to others and as it is said that some things are better expressed in a certain language which cannot the show the same depth and emotion in any other language. Lastly, I strongly believe that it is very important to preserve languages because that’s what makes the world and the people so different from each other yet so unique.

Moreover, it is also valid to have the opinion that it will be easier if there are fewer languages. Although, it is beneficial to preserve as many languages as possible it can sometimes create confusion and misunderstandings between individuals because of the language barrier. It is also true that if there are a lot of languages it can turn people against each other because they think their language is superior. For example, two friends not putting efforts in learning or understanding the other’s mother tongue because it will make them inferior Infront of their friend. The arguments made on this view are also intellectual and understandable.

In conclusion, I have tried to discuss both the views however, my personal belief is disagreement to the statement that says life will be easier if there are fewer languages. Life might become easier but we will start to lose our identity slowly so it should be every individual’s duty to try their best and not let their language lose its existence.