Every year several languages die out. This is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent times, many languages have begun to go extinct. The majority of people thought that this was a good thing to happen because people would live easier lives if languages decreased over time.

Languages have been spoken all over the world since the dawn of mankind. They have been a tool for communication for centuries, but over the years, languages have been perishing one by one. Hence, some people think that communicating with one another has become easier because of the fewer language barriers. This causes information to spread rapidly across social media. A lessening of languages also means that miscommunication is likely to be minimized.

Despite these merits, there are notable demerits to languages dying out. One significant challenge is the loss of cultural identity. For instance, in Indonesia, over 200 languages are spoken in the country; losing those languages will diminish their ethnic groups as a whole. If this continues to happen, a domino effect will ensue, and people will start to lose their own cultural identities. This must be prevented immediately; hence, languages should be kept as national treasures. In that regard, the next generation must keep the traditions alive by learning languages that are going extinct. In addition, languages are things that prove that people have their own histories. This is what makes languages so special; they show not only their cultures but also their histories. For example, the English language is a language from the Germanic family mixed with French.

In conclusion, I disagree that languages should perish. I believe that languages should be kept as a national heritage for the next generation of people to know their history.