Everybody should donate a fixed amount of their income to support charity. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowdays, philanthropy and supporting charities play a significant role in constructing the society. Whilst proponents are of the view that people have the freedom to donate whatever they can, opponents belive that it should be complusary. However, I stand with the view that it is everyone’ choice because of the low income of workers and the variety of donations.

To embark on, low salaries affect the amount of money for local charities. To explain, if employees obtain a limited salary that can fulfill the basic needs such as accommedation and food, they cannot donate a fixed amount every month or year, and it will be a kind of burden over breadwinners. For example, an article published in the Economist mentioned that full-time workers receive a tax deduction from their salaries around 15 % monthly. Thus, what can be said is that the financial status plays a critical part in dontation.

In addition, donation is not restricted to money, it can be in other ways. In other words, when families cannot financialy support chartiable organizations , they can rely on other approches such as doing volunteering, giving old clothes or books and supporting emotionally. For instance, in Gaza, the majority of citizens are homeless, and many Egyptians send donation in the type of clothes, food, or water.Hence, what be assumed is that not only is money quintessional, but also other ways of assistance are convinent.

In conclusion, after manifesting the above mentioned points, it can be reiterated that forcing people to donate money is not a proper and effective way, while othe methods can be considerable. In my opinion, donation is a favorable deed and many people aim to help others when they have the ability.