Everyone should stay at school until 18. What extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a view that everyone should stay at school until eighteen. While it provides opportunities to those who are facing financial challenges to take advantage of free education and develop self-discipline and responsibility, I disagree with this viewpoint. As students progress, many curricula become complex and overloaded, leading to a lack of motivation. Additionally, it hinders them from self-development and personal growth.

Granted, schools ensure free education for everyone regardless of their backgrounds. Those from underpreviliged families cannot afford expensive instutitions in order to study their fields and foster their careers. Instead, they can take the advantage of free schools, concentrate on their academic subjects, and develop into professionals. Furthermore, studying at school not only gives the opportunity to learn various subjects but also fosters a sense of becoming highly organized. When young students are given homework and assignments consistently, they are more likely to develop their discipline, which is instrumental in producing well-rounded individuals in the near future.

Despite these compelling arguments, I remain convinced that the disadvantages are far more significant, one of which is a lack of motivation to study. As students progress over time, their curricula become more complex and difficult to understand. Exposed to numerous complex subjects, many students simply give up or do not pay attention to the lessons due to a lack of comprehension. Without a genuine interest, they attend classes, wasting their time until eighteen. Moreover, homework can hinder students’ productivity by giving a disproportionately high number of assignments. Were school teachers to give a large amount of homework simultaneously, it would increase the responsibilities that students must take on, challenging them mentally, which, in turn, results in poor performance outside school.

In conclusion, even though this trend can be advantageous in terms of opening up education opportunities for everyone and teaching responsibility, I maintain that it does more harm than good.