Exposure to international media, such as films, TV and magazines, has an impact on the local culture. What do you think of these impacts? Do you think that the advantages of these impacts outweigh the disadvantages?

Social media, films, television, magazines and other external sources like these can sometimes be very influential to society and culture, which might lead to destroying the authenticity of communities. Subjection to media can have possible impacts on the locsl culture. In my opinion, local culture sometimes get demolished by exposure to external media, the reasons for this will be further discussed in the essay.

Firstly, sources of distraction like media have a very strong power to take over people’s brains, as it influences their process of thinking, making them inclined towards the thought of television or films in every aspect, causing them to fade away from their roots. Secondly, some of the media effects can be very hostile, for example, if a person wants to convey a message to the world, if his motive is to make people understand the root cause, he may post a recording or a video of his unbiased opinion without filtering anything, which might be quite disturbing to hear, especially if it is about sensitive topics like political unrest. In addition, the domination of international language in the media can lead to decline in the use of local languages, contributing to their extinction.

On the other hand, exposure to international media enables the introduction of new ideas and artistic styles that enriches local culture. It can also create economic opportunities for local communities by promoting tourism, arts and crafts.

Although impact of international media has its advantages, its disadvantages outweighs the advantages due to factors like death of authenticity of the locsl culture.