Exposure to international media, such as films, TV and magazines, has an impact on the local culture. What do you think of these impacts? Do you think that the advantages of these impacts outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, many people are attracted towards western culture, ignoring their own traditions. Some of them is influenced by cinemas, television programs, and newspapers. I personally believe that international media has benefits that outweigh the drawbacks.

To commence with, films are the most important factor to alter human behavior. Especially global movies are based on action and thrilled genres. The content is promoting unwanted behavior among young people. To illustrate, some of the studies showed that 55 % of youngster influenced by movies and behaved like what they watched in it and wanted to become the same person in their lives. In addition to it, a 12-years old boy was acting like a psycho after watching the criminal-based movie.

Moreover, magazines and TV program also impact the culture. Many people inspired by magazines cover models and adapting it on the daily live. As a result, they ignore their cultural roots. If these activities continue for many years then we will see the changes in local traditions. For example, a study conducted by Nielsen, a research company revealed that in South Asia, 65% of people adapting western culture and they find their local culture boring. Thus, exposure to international culture has dramatics impact on the local traditions.

On the other hand, it has some advantages as we can enjoy others’ culture and learn more about their traditions. Having the knowledge about international media industry helps those people who are interested to choose it as a career. To exemplify it, Former Miss World, Priyanka Chopra said in one of her interviews that I achieved it by following fashion icons from all over the world.

In conclusion, we can encourage ours to live by accepting others culture but this should not exceed the limit. Thus, following the international media will benefit our lives in many ways.