Exposure to international media, such as films, TV and magazines, has an impact on the local culture. What do you think of these impacts? Do you think that the advantages of these impacts outweigh the disadvantages?

International media consumption has increased significantly post the internet era and has seen rise in covid times. People have not only adopted and started consuming the media but also the culture and habits from other countries in the globe, it has also impacted local cultures. This essay with discuss upon the advantages and disadvantages of the same. In my opinion these advantages have definitely outweighed the disadvantages.

Firstly, taking about advantages of these media forms. People have come across a lot of knowledge of cultures which has also resulted in understanding intercultural values. There have been changes in the fashion sense and eating habits.Moreover, there have been a lot of opportunities for new generation for businesses, lifestyle and creativity in new fields. For example, according to a survey published in newspaper past week, there is an increase of 12% in creativity and entertainment field by consumption of OTT’s and Films by new generations.

On the other hand, excessive consumption of these media’s have led to unneccessary knowledge amongst children. Moreover, generations after generations are adopting different cultures and overlooking theirs. People have started learning different languages instead of their mother tongue. Recently in a report provided by a news channel showed that youngsters have preference of pizzas and cold drinks over the traditional food. Which in result has also seen increased obesity rates.

In conclusion, there are quite a disadvantages including the consumption of inappropiate clothing and food according to the climate. However, the advantages have resulted in high earnings as well as more decent lifestyle of people with a great knowledge about the happenings around the world. But not to forget about the fact that local culture including the staple, beliefs, art forms etc remains equally important.