'Failure is proof that the desire was not strong enough.'To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Some people think that failing means not having a desire that is adequately strong. I cannot agree with this statement because of some reasons I discuss in the following paragraphs.

Having a desire may not always be about winning or losing. There might be coincidental occurrences for not achieving the best. Even though a person has a clear target there is a chance something unplanned may happen out of nowhere like accidents resulting in losing focus towards success. Take an Olympic athlete wishing for the highest as an example. Imagine a sportsman yearning for triumph had an injury while training, in this case he would not be able to participate in the match. As a result, he may or may not win, yet this does not mean he did not wish to succeed. Another example, there is a student whose goal is to visit Iceland on holiday. A powerful hurricane might hit the place and cause the delay or cancel of flight. That student could fail to travel in the end.

No doubt that a strong wish could be a good motivation for people to start acting. It makes you wholly focus all your energy, time and strength, yet that may not be enough to achieve a final output. In this sense, making the effort could be a lot more vital part of achievement. If a person with a goal on mind just wishes his plan to work out successfully doing nothing but wanting and praying, he is subjected to fail. The quote “actions speak louder than words” could be a perfect saying to prove this point. For example, there might be a high school graduate whose biggest dream is to become a Harvard Law school student out there. If he wants to study there, but does not engage in serious learning he surely can end up not achieving the dream. Because, getting admitted to such prestigious universities requires studying hard.

In conclusion, I believe lack of desire is not responsible for peoples’ loss. Some factors like unexpected incidents and not making enough effort are highly likely to induce failure.