Farmers within a country are often protected by tariffs-that is, special taxes on imported food. Such policies are necessary, and should be implemented whenever possible. To what extent do you agree with this?

In many countries, individuals from the farming industry are protected by special taxes that are really helpful. Some believe that those advantages should be implemented wherever possible. I wholeheartedly agree with this statement since it allows farmers to survive and helps the governments not to create any conflict with them.

If the governments allow the creation of tariffs, the farmers would be quite helped in having sufficiant money to live. Furthermore, the agricultors are needed by the terrains of wheat and oat, sadly, that job tends to not pay enough. For instance, in a study conducted in 2013, the Parisian HEC University illustrated that more than 70% of agricultors struggled to survive with their poor revenue. Between them, 80% of the people suggested that tariffs really help them live of of their job.

It is ought to implement tariffs since it ensures that the farmers will not revolt themselves. Moreover, individuals of that sector are not scared to manifest their desires so it is better to allow them to have these special allowances. For example, in January of 2024, European governments had to face protests led by agricultors who were angry because they were not paid enough. The first thing they asked for was the augmentation of tariffs by 55%, which was granted and allowed the conflict to stop. The example shows that this tax is quite helpful and might save millions of people who are invested in the farming industry.

To conclude, I firmly believe that these special taxes should be implemented whenever possible due to the fact that it allows people from the farming sector to live properly and deviates any possibility of conflict on the matter.