Fast food advertisements can be foulad on TV and throughout social media which tempts people to eat unhealthy food. Should fast food ads be banned?

In the era of information, advertising is an aspect in our every day life. Advertisements promote fast foods through various mediums like Televisions and social media. This influences a vast majority of people and tempts them into eating unhealthy foods. Some arguments about the ban of fast food ads and my opinion on the matter is discussed below.

Fast food consumption have risen in popularity through out the years. A great variety of people irrespective of their age are now consuming an unhealthy amount of junk food which is detrimental to their health. Fast food consumption is now normalized to such an extend that it has become a daily habit for a large portion of the population. For instance, most family these days spend quality time together in fast food restaurants and it is seen has a sort of bonding activity. This leads to forming of unhealthy habits and many negative health issues. When children see these junk food adverts they pester their parents to buy them these types of foods. Most advertisements does not cover the health risks associated with their products, often manipulating their audiences into buys their products.

However, junk foods are also a form of relaxation and enjoyment. Junk foods are very delicious and are very appetizing. It also helps people who often do not have much time to cook have a quick and delicious meal. People get to know about the latest trends in the food industry through advertisements. Almost everyone want to try out the newest and trending delights. Social media platforms, for instance Instagram, exposes a huge audiences to the most popular foods. People love experiencing new things, especially new types of foods. So advertisements helps in finding out the hot trends and experiences which in turn makes people happy.

In conclusion, fast food advertisements have their upsides and downsides. Most commercials trick people into eating food that is not beneficial for their family and their health. However, it also exposes people to very enjoyable and fun experiences. I am of the opinion that completely banning junk food commercials is not a great idea. The focus should be on regulating the information spread by these adverts