Fatherhood ought to be emphasised as much as motherhood. The idea that women are solely responsible for deciding whether or not to have babies leads on to the idea that they are also responsible for bringing the children up. Discuss and give your opinion.

In most modern societies, especially those leaning more to the conservative side of the spectrum, parenting has always been viewed as a primarily women’s responsibility and duty. Women are mostly perceived as the main caregivers and decision-makers during the entire process of children’s upbringing, while the role of a father is often overlooked. However, I believe that fatherhood deserves to be viewed as equally important, as fathers play a critical role in providing financial stability for their families and serving as a moral compass for their children.

First and foremost, the role that is often associated with a man is that of a breadwinner. In many households, the father usually is the one responsible for ensuring a stable income and covering the needs of the children, such as education, healthcare, and other expenses. Moreover, this financial support is vital not only for a child’s development and future, but also for a mother who needs to be granted safety and stability, especially in the first, most vulnerable years of a child’s life. At times, when society fails to acknowledge the man’s responsibility in kids’ upbringing, the role of a financial provider often lands on a mother’s shoulders, causing unnecessary stress within a family.

Secondly, fathers can also play an essential role as a moral compass for their offspring. Despite the fact that a mother usually remains a central figure in a child’s life, providing much-needed emotional support and nurture, a father can be the one teaching what is right and wrong, serving as a role model especially in terms of moral development. This way, both caregivers can equally share parenting endeavors, guiding their children emotionally and socially and facilitating growth and development.

In conclusion, while a mother figure might still take a central place in a child’s life, the role of a father should not be overshadowed. Financial support and moral guidance are some of the vital elements that a father brings to a family, contributing to its wellbeing. Therefore, society must pay equal attention to fatherhood and promote it just as much as motherhood, ensuring that both parents are equally responsible for raising their offspring.