Few people devote time to hobbies nowadays. Say why you think this is the case and what effect this has on the individual and society in general

Sparing time for one’s hobbies has been an uphill task nowadays for a significant majority of people. This may be attributed to the changes in the lifestyle of modern society as well as people’s relentless race towards their professional careers. From my perspective, this trend is taking a toll on the physical and psychological health of humans.

One of the reasons that people are moving away from their recreation is the unending pursuit of their own careers. Accordingly, long working hours and the pressure of excelling in their respective fields have drifted people away from their spare time. In addition, lack of luring opportunities to integrate pastime into a full-time career is another repellent for people to ignore their hobbies. For instance, a mother pushing her son to focus on academics rather than enhancing his skills in a painting could be seen as a fit example of prioritizing long term careers over craft. Adding to these, another reason that may have aggravated the issue is the lack of joint families in current times. Children in nuclear families often lack the encouragement and support that arises from the unconditional love from their grandparents to pursue their dreams.

Consequently, not making avocation a part of daily life has come up with its own ramifications on civilisation as a whole. As a result, life is turning out to be monotonous and individuals are losing charm. Survival of the fittest is rapidly becoming the prime motto for the social animal. Community is lacking multi-directional development and the result has become less coherent. Indeed, doctors are alarmed about the adverse impact of sailing away from one’s hobbies on mental and physical health as our medical community directly sees a correlation between stress and the period that we spend pursuing our pleasure.

To conclude, survival in the tough competitive world has taken precedence over hobbies. Awareness of this frightening trend in the health and development of humans should be spread across prominent platforms for maximum reach out to the public. Otherwise, we could be fast becoming a society without human touch in the recent future and in order to contribute to a person’s happiness and well-being, we should take that seriously into account.