Few people devote time to hobbies nowadays. Say why you think this is the case and what effect this has on the individual and society in general. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In a world driven by constant change, some people nowadays devote their time to hobbies, due to work stress. They need a distraction that can help them to relax and provide a break from work. Depending on the hobby that people choose, it benefits them in various ways. This essay will discuss the main causes of this trend and its potential effects on the individual and society.

One of the primary reasons people devote their time to hobbies is due to work-related stress. For instance, the increasing demands of modern work cultures often lead individuals, especially in fields like software engineering, to work hard. This results in mental stress, eventually leading people to devote their time to hobbies. When we spend time on hobbies, such as music, art, etc., we feel relaxed.

On the other hand, the impact of this trend extends beyond the individual level and affects the whole society. Hobbies not only help people personally overcome work-related stress, it also help them develop new skills. For instance, when a person pursues playing guitar as his/her hobby, he is also adding a new skill to his life. And when we see this trend at a societal level, many people develop different skills through these hobbies. Eventually, this will lead to a society of skillful people and people who can manage their stress better.

In conclusion, the trend of few people spending most of their time on hobbies is because of work-related stress. In order to overcome the stress they pick various hobbies. And this not only helps people individually as they develop new skills but it also helps to create a skillful society.