Fewer and fewer people today write by hand using a pen, a pencil, or brush. What are the reasons for this? Is the decline in writing by hand a positive or negative development?

It is widely argued that handwriting with traditional tools such as pens, pencils, or calligraphies is becoming increasingly rare in recent years. This essay attempts to shed light on the driving factors behind this tendency before concluding that the negative consequences of this shift are more significant.

The decline in handwriter can be attributed to several factors especially for the advent of digital gadgets. To be more specific, there are more typing devices which have different appearances as well as the letter style for all people to choose. In fact, it is more time-efficient as people can send instant messages or crucial files regardless of geographical boundaries. In contrast, ancient people needed at least a week to deliver letters for recipients. Besides that, writing on the internet is faster and more convenient such as typing, texting and spell checking. Sending an email, for instance, allows individuals to convey information quickly, attach documents, photos, and receive prompt responses.

On the other hand, the negatives of this trend outweigh its positives. Firstly, handwriting is crucial for children during school years. This is mainly because youngsters have a tendency to use slang words or acronyms when chatting with their friends. In the long term, studentsmay use these words during literature exams, therefore, they may lose writing skills. Secondly, the decline of handwriting might lead to a loss of traditional skills or national identity. In many cultures, calligraphy has been a revered art form for centuries, reflecting a combination of aesthetic beauty and linguistic expression which may disappear when people are addicted to type information through some devices. As a result, the decrease in the practice of handwriting may lead to loss of cultural heritage.

In conclusion, there are some underlying factors behind the move away from handwriting. However, the downside would emerge negatively consequently in terms of writing habits and cultural identity.