Fewer and fewer people today write by hand using a pen, a pencil, or brush. What are the reasons for this? Is the decline in writing by hand a positive or negative development?

It is argued that a number of people who write with pen or pencil by using their hand is decreasing day by day. From my perspective, the main reasons behind this are improvements of technology and difficulties in longhand; however, it is a positive development, because with advanced technology, writing or taking notes has become easier.

To begin with the possible reasons, first of all, in today’s world, a several people prefer to benefit from technological gadgets rather than utilizing pen or pencil while they are writing or taking notes, and this more convenient way to write. In addition, in the past people communicated with each other by sending letter, however, these days, thanks to development of technology, people can reach others by using their mobile phones and sending messages, which is decreasing the value of writing by using hand. Another reason I could suggest is longhand is not always suitable for everybody, because some people’s writing can be slow, so this situation can hinder taking notes or cause to make a lot of mistake while writing, giving rise to confuse them or others when they look at their writing.

Moving onto the positive progression, nowadays, people take advantage of this easiness by purchasing and using technological devices instead of writing to paper, because everyone prefer to write their notes to their devices effortlessly. To illustrate, compared to those who are still writing to paper, a lot of students take notes from their computers while they are in the class, therefore, they can copy their writing without difficulty. Furthermore, it has also benefit to the environment, because paper consuming is diminishing day by day, which encourages people to protect nature, and now, almost every people handle their business from virtual platforms without spending any paper.

All in all, taking the afore-mentioned points into account, it can be concluded that thanks to the technological developments, everyone write efficiently by using these kind of devices rather than utilizing pen or pencil and they cannot struggle with difficulties that cause longhand, because of that it is a great development as well.