Fewer schools are requiring children to learn and improve their hand writing skills. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of this trend?

Learning and improving writing skills in offsprings within school teaching became less common. Although this gap may allow students to focus on computer-based skills betterment, but it detracts them from learning skills that can be critical for their future opportunities, and I believe this disadvantage far outweighs any potential advantages.

It can be argued that without any writing teaching in schools, children can focus on other skills, such as informatic or computer skills, which are valued the most in the digital era employments. An increasing number of companies require candidates to have essential computer-based abilities, such as the capacity to use Office Package including Word, Excel and PowerPoint. If individuals lack knowledge of these skills, they would be less likely to be considered or recruited by any company. However, although imparting digital literacy in schools holds immense importance, I do not think writing skills are less valuable than computer abilities in employment. Instead, different job position requires different skills, including writing skills.

On the negative side, the discussed trend subtracts students from flourishing other valuable abilities and important skills that can be equally beneficial for students’ future pathways. For instance, for those kids who want to become journalists or news reporters, writing skills may be crucial to learn and improve. Such skills include owning sophisticated language, the ability to organise ideas in a cohesive manner and express complex thoughts effortlessly. Researches have shown how schools that have writing modules in their curricula see their students becoming successful in their career life after school, compared to educational institutions that do not own writing courses. Thus, I believe that not including such courses in the school curriculum can indeed be detrimental for kids as it hinders their potential brilliant future opportunities.

In conclusion, despite the lack of any writing teaching in schools may permit children to focus in relevant digital skills, I believe that this upside is greatly outweighed by the downside that this trend hinders the development of valuable skills that could be pivotal to juveniles’ future careers.