Fewer schools are requiring children to learn and improve their hand writing skills. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of this trend?

It has been observed that only a few schools demand learners to learn and boost their handwriting capabilities. It is worth noting that handwriting appears outdated recently, because of technological improvements, such as computers, laptops, and phones.

On the one hand, there are several drawbacks associated with the lack of handwriting skills. To begin, manual writing abilities are an integral part of both individuals’ personal and professional lives. For example, people might fulfill several documents, or fulfill some tasks given by their school, which demand only hand wright. Additionally, what makes handwriting a compulsory skill might be connected with its basics and children’s academic pathway. For instance, most curriculums focus on teaching literacy skills from elementary years, and that reflects handwriting’s importance. Without writing properly by hand, students may not be able to enhance not only their literacy abilities but also other chores associated with writing.

On the other hand, because of advancements in the technology field, handwriting proves to be baseless. To elaborate, a wide range of schools endeavor to contribute computational skills of their students, as learners begin to make some presentations and upgrade their reliance on keyboards. Being familiar with keyboards instead of handwriting offers numerous benefits such as increasing the rate of entering an institution or landing a job. Moreover, according to an article published in “The Scientist,” a leading newspaper in London, studies have shown that utilizing other tools for writing instead of pens and pencils, influences the efficiency of work and study on an unprecedented scale. As individuals take their notes on their laptops, it provides them with the advantages of revising, removing some unnecessary parts, highlighting, and adding several visuals.

Taking everything into account, the upsides of less reliance on handwriting skills surpass the downsides. If people opt for computers for writing, not only their academic pathway will improve, but also job opportunities will surge.