Some people believe that adopting a healthy lifestyle is the most effective way to increase life expectancy. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that longevity can be increased by adoption of a healthy lifestyle. I completely agree with this statement because it helps to give up unhealthy habits and causes an increase of health span.

Following healthy lifestyle means restricting unhealthy addictions. If somebody wants to improve their life quality, this is the first thing every person should do. Because when a person follows his bad habits, healthy lifestyle does not make and effect on them. For example, smoking, drinking heavy alcohol, sedentary lifestyle, and so on. It is a fact that these all lead to numerous impairments like respiratory problems. So, if a person adopts a healthy lifestyle, they have to give up on bad habits first.

Moreover, a healthy lifestyle requires being health conscious, which leads to an increase of health span. Following healthy lifestyle, people try follow habits like a healthy diet, a healthy weight, and being optimistic. First two are vital for overall health maintaining, while the latter can impact on both physical and mental health. Healthy diet causes healthy weight that prevents obesity and other illnesses like type two diabetes, cardiovascular diseases and many more. At the same time being optimistic helps to prevent Alzheimer’s disease and dementia. Following a healthy lifestyle means being disease free.

In conclusion, if a person chooses healthy living, they should give up on their bad habits and stay healthy conscious. This is the reason why I agree that healthy lifestyle is the most effective way to increase a lifespan.