Fewer students are studying science at school and university, favoring more computer-based subjects. Why do you think it is happening? Do the advantages of this trend outweigh its disadvantages?

It is often argued that students nowadays prioritize computer-based subjects over science at school and university. There are a considerable number of reasons that explain this phenomenon. Personally, I believe this phenomenon has both beneficial and adverse aspects, specifically to the society and economy.

There are a few reasons behind why students focus more on computer-based subjects than science. Advanced academic science knowledge is not frequently applied to student’s career choices. Many students struggle to see how this knowledge can benefit them on their career pathway. Another factor is the job opportunities that computer-based skills can offer. Nowadays, computer technology has played a crucial and impactful role in enhancing a country’s economy. This results in job market demands favoring employees who acquire computer-related knowledge. In this field, employability and high salary are more abundant. As a result, students’ preference for computer-related subjects at school is becoming more and more popular.

In terms of the advantageous effects, students’ orientation for computer-based career will eventually lead to economic growth. If more people work in computer-based fields, productivity from a larger workforce will help to speed up technological innovation and advancement. For instance, advancements in artificial intelligence, automation, or software will support every other aspect and career, therefore, economic growth will improve people’s living conditions. However, the negative aspects still exist regardless of the impactful benefits that this phenomenon has. It seems that the importance of science is being overlooked. People who work in this field are the ones who come up with initiatives in medical research, public health, and environmental protection. Fewer students training themselves to work for science will lead to degradation of any other related fields. This means that science is the foundation of a society’s development and that it is equally as important as other sectors in developing a society. Therefore, this phenomenon has both positive and negative influence

In conclusion, there are many convincing reasons that explain students’ tendency to prioritize computer-based subjects. It is understandable that job market demands and the growth of technology have affected students’ choices in their career pathway. This results in both positivity and negativity for the society.