Fewer young people do farming work in rural areas. Why? Should young people be encouraged to do farming work?

In the technological era, more and more young people prefer working in other professions to working in the agricultural field. This essay will clarify the reasons behind this trend and explain why the authorities should encourage the youth to be involved in farming.

To begin with, there are several compelling rationales for the lack of young individuals choosing to pursue careers related to agriculture. Firstly, modernization requires the boost of the economy. But in perception, adolescents consider farming as less lucrative nowadays, due to the stability of work’s nature. To be more specific, this field is definitely risky when relying chiefly on weather conditions, which are unpredictable such as sudden storms. Consequently, laborious effort can be harmed, while other jobs offer better financial sustainability in the long-term. Secondly, physical strength is indispensable in farming. This means to become productive, farmers have to suffer a strenuous working environment, hence the health’s deterioration.

In spite of aforementioned reasons, there are strong arguments supporting the encouragement of young individuals to engage in the agricultural sector. Agriculture remains a backbone of many economies and is crucial for food security. In other words, with an ever-growing and migration of people, the productivity and effectiveness of cultivating demand technological integration, which can be obtained easier by young generations. Besides that, the government should provide farmers cutting-edge facilities to create entrepreneurial opportunities for adolescents. Moreover, a profound insight into their perception about farming also can fortify agriculture’s position in these modern days.

In conclusion, the decline in young people choosing farming is a multifaceted issue involving economic, social and environmental factors. Stimulating them to pursue occupation in agriculture is important for the future of food security and rural development. By addressing the challenges and offering supportive sources, it is feasible to make farming a more appealing career option for next generations.