First impressions are important. Some people think that doing well in interviews is the key to securing a good job? To what extent do you agree?

There are multiple factors involved in job selection, ranging from an excellent profile to sheer luck. It can be argued that the interview forms a crucial part of the hiring process, but I disagree that it is the most important. I contend that the individual’s achievements and professional experience of the candidate are more significant in this process.

To begin with, academic performance is highly regarded in the selection criteria among job applicants. Companies give importance to college rankings, grade sheets, and letters of recommendation. For instance, in IIT Bombay, a premier engineering institute in India, the highest job offers often go to top students with exceptional gradesheets. This seems to demonstrate that even if a candidate aces the oral interview, they might still fall short of someone who ranked first in class.

A second criterion for selecting an individual is the amount of experience they have in their desired field. Many young graduates,for example, failing to secure jobs owing to a lack of experience. This is extremely prevalent in the medical field, where this is strictly enforced. Here, speaking skills will be no good if the person lacks expertise in operating on a patient. However, good interviewing ability is helpful as employers can judge the character of the individual they are hiring. To illustrate this point, many American residency programs interview candidates with similar profiles to find the best fit, based on the applicant’s personality. Although it is essential, an excellent interview cannot get someone hired without the required education qualifications.

In conclusion, I reiterate that having good command over the interview is beneficial. Still, I cannot compare the advantages of being a university topper and research years spent sharpening skills. By striking a balance between professional milestones as well as in person communication during interviews, an applicant can achieve great success.