First impressions are important. Some people think that doing well in interviews is the key to securing a good job? To what extent do you agree?

In order to get decent employment, performing well in interviews is said to be the most important task as first impressions during these meetings are vital. I disagree with this opinion and this essay aims to prove that there are other factors that much more matter.

Admittedly, interviews do play an indispensible role in evaluating candidates’ attitudes and communication skills. Interviews assist employers in confirming candidates’ actual demeanor as well as enthusiasm, as these soft skills are difficult to assess only through documents. However, these impressions are likely to be misleading sometimes. Some individuals might perform well during interviews thanks to their momentary confidence or memorised answers, which can lead to failure in meeting real-life expectations later. As a result, although interviews can support recruitment process, they cannot become the priority over other indicators such as previous achievement and hands-on experiences.

Most importantly, although first impressions during interviews are noticeable, a more significant factor that affects the chance to get a good job is candidates’ actual working style and long-term potential. In order to achieve good results, a worker needs to have good expertise, strategic thinking, and problem-solving skills, all of which require substantial time and experience to master. There are many cases where applicants exaggerate their abilities during interviews and on their CVs, and then they fail to deliver performance that matches their initial claims. This is because when dealing with real-world problems, the set of skills mentioned matters far more than just a polished self-presentation on paper. That is why most well-known companies currently allow applicants to work in trials before making final hiring decisions.

In conclusion, whereas first impressions during interviews facilitate human resource sectors to testify applicants’ soft skills such as communication skills and real-life attitudes, I would argue that they are not the top factor for job-seekers to get good employment. From my perspective, previous practical experiences and actual personal working styles are more reliable evidences.