First impressions are important. Some people think that doing well in interviews is the key to securing a good job? To what extent do you agree?

It is widely believed that first impressions are highly significant, which has led some people to believe that one’s performance during a job interview is the key to securing the job. However I disagree with this view because I believe that other factors are of more importance, such as the history of one’s academic achievements and how well he can prove that he does possess the skills administrators are looking for.

On the one hand, having a reputable educational background is extremely relevant. One’s academic achievements are often the main consideration when picking employees because it’s the most efficient way to truly grasp the intelligence and hard working spirit possessed by each individual, and also to compare this individual to others applying for the same position. For example, the employer is more likely to hire an accountant with a PhD in finance rather than a collage drop-out regardless of either person’s appearance and performance during the job interview.

On the other hand, there might be a certain set of skills employers are looking for in their future employees that is better expressed through the writing of one’s C.V. rather than through the first impression one gives off during the interview. Things like statistical analysis, corporate management, and computing are hard skills that are really significant yet can not be observed through talking to the person in an interview. For instance, years of experience in computing written on one’s C.V. are often bigger of a factor in the employment process in contrast to how well one is dressed.

In conclusion, having the skills and experience required to take on a job is far more relevant than the impression you give off during the interview. I believe that meeting the criteria for a certain position proves to be more important than any first impression you can give off in an interview.