Foreign language learning should begin in primary school rather than in secondary school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, the quality of school education has become a major concern, sparking a debate about whether to integrate foreign languages into primary school programs. While some may argue that children at primary school are able to comprehend new knowledge more efficiently than at secondary school, I only partly agree with this viewpoint, as I firmly believe that this method can face some challenges, such as distracted behavior of children and requiring a significant amount of time on studying.

One of the most significant benefits of learning foreign language at primary school is the possibilities of children’s brains to absorb new information easily. More specifically, this learning strategy allows a child to acquire knowledge through the environment, as they did with their mother tongue. This phenomenon is particularly common among children who moved to another country at an early age, as they face a new language through communication. As a result, they are able to develop a deeper understanding of a language and improve academic performance.

On the other hand, studying a foreign language as a subject at secondary school also gives some significant benefits. In older age students already have broadened horizons with their own viewpoint and understanding of different perspectives. As a result, their previous experience improves their understanding of language structure and rules, thereby enhancing academic achievement. Moreover, students at a younger age tend to get distracted more easily. Consequently, making the process of learning a new language into a long-time journey.

In conclusion, although integrating a foreign language into secondary school curricula can offer some benefits, I firmly believe that learning languages at primary school may provide more long-term benefits, such as improving future academic performance and achieving a high level of language proficiency.