Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continual assessment such as coursework and projects is not satisfactory way to do this. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some believe that student’s scores cannot be evaluated based on continuous assessment, but it must be done by exams alone. This essay disagrees with the statement because continuous assessment keeps track of a student’s growth and the final scores of a student will not entirely depend on the test.

While conducting exams to assess students is a traditional yet good method for evaluation, I believe that including assignments and projects along with conducting examinations is a more effective method to evaluate a student. This is because continuous assessment keeps track of a student’s progress. Performing a review and writing an essay or report on the given topic as an assignment boosts the student’s thinking ability and deepens his knowledge of the given subject. Consequently, it is easier for educators to check the reasoning ability and logical thinking of the student. This allows the student to be marked in all aspects and not just memorization. Because, for example, in subjects like social studies, the exam preparation is completely based on memorization.

If examinations are the only method of assessing a student, the scores of the student will entirely depend on the exams conducted. Commonly, many students get nervous while writing exams, and this might affect their percentage. In addition, if the student is not feeling his best on the exam day, he might not be able to perform well. Hence, this becomes somewhat unfair to the students. Instead, when formal examinations are combined with coursework, seminars, and group discussions, it becomes a fair assessment of students’ growth. Moreover, the marks are divided respectively according to the scheme. This way students can score better.

To conclude, continuous assessment can be an effective method of assessing peers as it keeps in check students’ growth and boosts their overall scores.