Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continual assessment such as course work and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Many schools claim that formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student’s performance, whereas continual assessment, such as, course work or projects, is not as compelling as they are. In this essay, however, I strongly disagree with that statement as constant evaluation contributes a lot more in a way to train a student’s growth through his mistakes, also to enhance a student’s creativity and critical thinking.

Education should not be only to judge how much a student has achieved a certain level of knowledge but also to see how he has grown within. Through the mistakes from early attempts, student may improve overtime until he reaches his accomplishment. In addition, student may catch more information through the process when figuring out for the solutions to his mistakes. For instance, data shows that students who constantly contribute on course work have a better understanding of the lesson than the students who pull all-nighter for examinations.

What’s more, students may develop a fast rate in increasing their creativity and critical thinking through the process. By handling group projects or presentations, students are urged to enlarge their range of ideas and how they can improve the quality of certain things which is a vital progress in order to ace in formal examimations. Another example would be students who work on their brain rather than solely relying on memorization proves a long term memory which is constantly enhancing their performance.

To conclude, while formal examinations are crucial to assess a student’s ability, I hardly agree that continual assessment is underestimated as it is the source for students to perfect their examinations.