Fossil fuels, coal, oil, and natural gases are the main sources in many countries, but in some countries the use of alternative sources of energy, wind energy, and solar energy is encouraged. To what extent do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Consumption of fossil fuels is increasing day by day, so does its negative effect on environment. Substitutes of fossil fuels play vital role in mitigating the climate change for the global society. Some nations have started encouraging use of energy-substitutes like wind energy and solar energy, l reckon it as a positive development in a large extent.

Furthermore, fossil fuels are the main causes of environmental degradation. Its substitutes, wind energy, solar energy and so on, play trivial part in environmental changes. This is the substantial reason for the any nation to adapt the other sources of energy instead of fossil fuels. Some nations like USA and China are encouraging their citizens to drive solar powered cars, that ultimately help them, to reduce the consumption of fossil fuels and improve the air quality.

Adapting other sources like wind energy and solar can help nations to boost their economy, countries do not have to depend on the imports of coal to generate electricity. For example, India has built nearly 5000 acers of solar farm in Patan district of Gujarat state. This farm can produce electricity to light up entire city and thus India has reduced its coal consumption and coal import.

On the other hand, nations cannot depend entirely without the use of fossil fuels and implement of other sources of energy might not have that much cost efficiency. In the long run countries can cover their losses if the decide to use energy-substitutes.

All in all, the use of substitutes is suitable choice for many nations if environment is their priority. Encouraging citizens to adapt solar powered electricity can help nations to achieve less dependency on fossil fuels. Governments can provide subsidies to open wind-farm, solar-farm and so on.